Must have: Essey’s Illusion Table

 

I’m a sucker for all things unique and quirky.  This illusion table is my latest lemming and has a fixed place on my wishlist for funky furniture.

These tables give the illusion that it’s just a table cloth floating in the air by itself. Spooky!!

The designer is John Bauer founder of Essey and come in a variety of colours (range is different for each size: clear, grey, brown, red, white, ice, black) and three sizes: illusion (H=44 Ø=32 cm, 3 kg), grand illusion (H=52 Ø=44 cm, 4.2 kg) and tall illusion (H=56 Ø=32 cm, 4.2 kg).

The idea was derived when John Bauer came across some round tables with white tablecloths, each corner touching the floor.  After getting some samples produced,

“The result was Illusion, a stunning example of Symbolic Functionalism that has received an extremely enthusiastic reception from both the press and consumers.” John Brauer

You can see how this clever table is made.  How clever!

How much and where can I buy one, I hear you ask? The tables cost from £100 onwards and can be found from these online sellers. (Note, Kooky and Cute do not take responsibility for the external content of these links)

Which colours would you go for? Do you have any other cool and quirky furniture to share?

Let us know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Must have: Essey’s Illusion Table

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and
    I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

